Skip navigation

Our People

Members of Parliaments


David Limbrick

In 2018, David was elected to the Victorian Legislative Council for the South Eastern Metropolitan region.

David is a passionate believer in individual liberty and its ability to create peace and prosperity wherever it is allowed to flourish. David has particular interest in the policy areas of drug law reform, taxation, energy policy and digital rights.

David has been a member of the Liberal Democrats State Executive Committee since 2014, and has previously served as state president.

Prior to his election, David has spent most of his career working in the field of Business Analytics and Data Warehousing in a variety of industries, most recently as a senior manager in the finance sector.

David holds a Bachelor of Computing from Federation University where he majored in Computing and Physics. David is also conversationally fluent in Japanese, after living in Japan for several years.

David is a father of 3 young boys and enjoys camping and bushwalking in his spare time.


Tim Quilty

In November 2018 Tim was elected to the Victorian Legislative Council for the Northern Victorian region.

Tim is passionate about individual liberty and the rights of the individual, and believes when people are free to make their own choices, peace and prosperity are the result.

Tim is a member of the Liberal Democrats Victorian State Executive and a former member of the party Federal Executive.

Prior to his election, Tim was a councilor on Wodonga Council, and maintains a strong interest in council affairs.

Tim is an accountant with experience in the public and private sector. Before that, he was a farmer on the family property at Adelong in Southern NSW.

Tim is the father of two young boys and enjoys shooting and fishing in his spare time.


Western Australia

Aaron Stonehouse

In 2017 Aaron was elected to the Western Australian Legislative Council for the South Metropolitan Region.

At 27 years of age, Aaron had no prior political experience. He live in Rockingham and worked in retail for most of his life, never having any grand political aspirations.

But as he said in his maiden speech, what he lacks in experience, he makes up for in conviction. And as the first elected to state parliament from a libertarian political party, he has a lot to say.

As a libertarian, Aaron believes you should be free to live your life as you see fit, free from unnecessary interference from the government. You should be free to smoke, eat, drink and spend your money as you like.

During his time in parliament, Aaron has planted the seeds for a new libertarian movement in WA.

If you believe in the enduring values of small government, low taxes and individual responsibility then he asks that you join him in the fight for liberty.


National Executive

Lloyd Russell (President)

Lloyd Russell is a passionate Queenslander, family man and small business owner with an extensive career in the private and public sectors. He is a 4th generation family business member, therefore understands that family and private business is the engine room of the Australian economy. He is passionate about family business and regional and local communities, as they are the very fabric of the Australian economy and culture.

Lloyd has had a diverse career ranging from working in agriculture, being a Pastoral House Branch Manager, lending specialist in the State Government, undertaking export development while at the Queensland Department of Agriculture, General Manager for a steel fabrication business and now a specialist accredited family business continuity and succession consultant. He is MBA qualified in Strategy, Governance and Risk Management and an accredited / licensed Neuroscience practitioner in Group Dynamics

As National President, Lloyd’s priority is on creation of a positive delivery focused culture within the administration wing of the Liberal Democrats at the National, State and Branch levels. He is also very focused on improving the connectivity between the Parliamentary and Administration wings of the party through improved engagement.

He firmly believes in individual freedoms, individual property rights, small government, and a lower taxation regime. Lloyd is also the Queensland State President of the Liberal Democrats.

Andrew Cooper (Vice-President)

Andrew has resolved to help a better society evolve by peeling back the State's involvement in our economic and personal lives. He is the founder and president of LibertyWorks, a not-for-profit organisation advocating classical liberal values and policies; LibertyFest a conference series celebrating our liberty where it exists and plotting to expand it where it doesn't; and has recently hosted Australia's first ever CPAC event.

Andrew studied business at the Queensland University of Technology, is a past president of Entrepreneur's Organisation Brisbane and the QLD Liberal Democrats. To earn a living he invests in commercial property and IT startup companies.

Richard Davies (Assistant Secretary)


Bede Mudge



Nathan Thomason


Terje Petersen

Terje (prononouced taya) is an ICT professional with a degree in Electrical Engineering (UNSW). Professionally he has worked in various roles across the private sector and government. Including as General Manager for a consulting firm, CIO in the mining sector and Program Manager in the NSW government sector. He grew up in rural NSW on a farm north west of Coffs Harbour and enjoys the outdoors. For five years he was a scout leader in the cub section. He is the father of three teenage children.  Terje has been a member of the party since 2003. He served on the National Executive previously in 2007 and has been a Senate and lower house candidate. He is interested in fostering a free and prosperous Australia. 

Rob McCathie (Treasurer)


Dr. Craig Buchanan (Secretary)


State Executives and Contacts

Click here to find state contacts.